Engagement celebration #2

17Mar10

We didn’t really know what to call it. The wedding is less than two months away, so it’s not really an engagement party. But it wasn’t a stag and doe either: there was no dance, not a lot of booze flowing, no stupid games involving toonie tosses at a bottle of whisky. It wasn’t a shower: I did not sit in a circle and open gift after endless gift while everyone else forced conversation.

Instead, we bowled!

Bridesmaid J and Almost-Groom M showed off their granny bowling skills.

We invited all of my extended family (if you’ll  recall, we had a party at a curling rink for M’s side of things),

My littlest cousin

my friends from school (of which only a few managed arrangements to get an hour and a half out of town),

The Student of Persuasion, me, and the Brilliant Computer Guy. I met Persuasion in English 100A in first year and we've been in each others classes about 80% of the time since. She's also my kitty buddy; we try to convince ourselves that Pekoe and her long haired Loki would get along fabulously if given the chance. Computer Guy lived in the same residence building with me and is constantly trying to explain complex mathematical concepts to me that go right over my head. The three of us have dinner/lunch/coffee/combo a few times a month. These people are AWESOME.

The Student of Persuasion, me, and the Brilliant Computer Guy. I met Persuasion in English 100A in first year and we've been in each others classes about 80% of the time since. She's also my kitty buddy; we try to convince ourselves that Pekoe and her long haired Loki would get along fabulously if given the chance. Computer Guy lived in the same residence building with me and is constantly trying to explain complex mathematical concepts to me that go right over my head. The three of us have dinner/lunch/coffee/combo a few times a month. These people are AWESOME.

what remains of my high school friends (not many)

Of course, that Bridesmaid Awesome. My oldest, best, bosom buddy, kindred spirits. We were big Anne of Green Gables fans.... She did my hair for the night! Isn't it pretty?

and the whole church in which I grew up.

Of course, that means the majority of the people there were church types. My church family is close knit and so supportive. While on one hand I’m looking forward to the time when M and I can start church shopping and find a church that fits both of us, I know I’m going to miss everyone I’ve grown up with or has watched me grow up.

The party was a good success and a lot of fun. I bowled and ate yummy food, and chatted about wedding stuff, school stuff, job stuff, what-are-you-going-to-do-with-your-life stuff.

2 Responses to “Engagement celebration #2”

  1. 1 Laura

    Your hair is GORGEOUS.


Leave a Reply

