Confessions of an English Literature student

11Dec09

Some of the time, especially at the end of a kind of stressful school term, I get sick of reading good books.

Weird, isn’t it? I mean, if a book is good, you shouldn’t get sick of reading it. So you would think. Except, the issue with good books is that they demand critical thinking. You have to notice stuff in order to recognize how good it really is. And it’s really hard to turn that critical thinking thing off.

Unless I’m reading a book that I know has very little literary value. Like this one:

I took a walk down Bloor this afternoon and found a little second hand book store that had almost the whole Shopaholic series on the shelf. I just saw the new(ish) movie a few days ago, so felt myself well enough versed in the world of Becky Bloomwood that I didn’t really want to read it. These books are all about the story, and if you already know it, reading actually doesn’t add much to the experience.

And, when I saw a wedding themed one… I snatched it up. Honestly, even before I got engaged, I loved weddings. And, despite finding the planning process and decision making a little stressful, I can’t help loving reading about other people’s experiences.

So, a little fun, a little comedy, hopefully set in a good context of my wrapping up semester and wedding planning.

4 Responses to “Confessions of an English Literature student”

  1. 1 mom

    Can I borrow it when you’re finished with it? I find Sophie Kinsella good for escaping–in small quantities.

  2. 2 Laura

    Um, excuse me, you walked down Bloor and did not come see me?

    What bookstore?

    • Guilty! Actually, as I was walking, I thought of you and remembered that you live somewhere near the central hub of things, and thought about how it would have been nice to go for coffee at some cute cafe or something.

      But of course by that point it was too late.

      I’m not sure what bookstore… It was just past Bathurst on a lower level. One of those ones with books crammed floor to ceiling and hardly room for the cash register.

      • 4 Laura

        Oh, I know which one you’re talking about. Never actually been in, though; my loyalties are tied to BMV.

        And yeah, you were…a block away from me, assuming I was at home. :p

        Next time you’re around!


Leave a Reply

