Engagement Party: Curling!

01Dec09

On the weekend, M and I finally had our first wedding related event. His parents threw us an engagement party in his area.

Both M and I are from the countryside of Canada. However, Canada has multiple different countrysides and our two look absolutely nothing like each other. I have an hour and a half to get to the nearest mall. His drive takes 15, maybe 20 minutes. The thing that causes some difficulty is that my hometown is almost exactly 4 hours away from his.

So, inviting any of my friends and family to this party was purely impractical, not to mention the unmanageably expanded guest list. This meant, however, that I spent the afternoon and evening hugging new people, hugging people I’d met just once or twice, and forgetting names almost as soon as they were introduced, no matter how hard I tried to remember them.

Anyway, the party was a huge success and despite lots of awkward I-don’t-know-you-and-have-no-idea-what-to-talk-about-with-you moments, I had a lot of fun. It was a curling party, so M and I got out on the ice as soon as we felt we’d greeted enough people.

I have never curled in my life, but, I’ll admit, even though people were calling it an sport for old people… I had so much fun! It was M’s brother’s idea. I think he had been to a ‘curling party’ before, so knew it would be fun. I was kind of terrible, though I did have a few lucky throws. My best friend and I were terrible at sweeping together: our brooms kept hitting because we both wanted to sweep close to the rock.

And, I must mention the food. My MMILTB, the same woman who made these invitations, outdid herself on food. She had some help, a team of people at the hall, but the party she threw was honestly pretty phenomenal. In order to feed the 80 or so people that came out to curl, she borrowed crock pots and huge, electrical roast ovens, filled them with Dutch soup, chili, pulled pork, meat balls, and who knows what else that I didn’t get around to seeing, and scattered them around the hall and the curling viewing area. There was always food close at hand and the crock pots made the whole place smell delicious. To top it all off, there were squares, candies, crackers, dip, cheese, cold meat, and cut vegetables.

I couldn’t have been happier with the party. I dislike Jack and Jills with the silly games and the beer tickets. (We had two or three, but they were done pretty tastefully and were not the whole purpose of the night!) Bridal showers make me cringe with the sitting around and having people watch the gift opening. This was none of the above and was perfect.

So, in this post, I must thank MMILTB, even though she doesn’t read this blog. We couldn’t have dreamed of a better party. I have to thank everyone who came, too, a few of whom I know reads this blog! Yes, I didn’t know everyone and was slightly intimidated by the sheer number of people I was being introduced to, but it was so good to see everyone there and their generosity has kind of blown me away.

(I hope to get some pictures soon. I was having too much fun to pull out my camera, but there were plenty floating around and MMILTB already promised me a CD full of them. So, hopefully soon!)

One Response to “Engagement Party: Curling!”

  1. 1 mom

    Our 4 hour drive home turned into 6.5 hrs. It was brutal. Traffic, rain and a side trip to accommodate our passenger.

    But, it was a good party. I might even join a curling team!


Leave a Reply

