What it’s really all about

22Oct09

I love reading wedding blogs, wedding websites and (yes, I’ll admit it) wedding magazines. The weekend M proposed, I signed up for The Knot. I bought a magazine the following weekend (not worth the $15, trust me) at the prompting of my similarly wedding enthused best friend and bridesmaid. Hardly a day goes by when I don’t stick ‘wedding’ into the Google Blog search.

But, as much as I love reading about other people’s weddings, I know they haven’t been great for my mental health. They’ve given me some great ideas and will likely continue to be an inspiration as the planning continues. But the images of $30 000 weddings with impeccable details and happy smiling people everywhere holding champagne glasses kind of freaks me out.

But every so often, I come across a blog post that reminds me my wedding doesn’t have to be like that. It’s allowed to be an absolute mess. The church could be plain and the flowers wilted. The caterer could forget the date leaving us to order in pizza for everyone. The dance could be a huge flop and the party over at 11:00. As long as we get married with our friends and family around us and God watching over it all, I will be happier than I can at this moment imagine.

No Responses Yet to “What it’s really all about”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

